Answers to frequently asked questions

  • What is assisted living?

    Assisted living is a way to provide care to people who are having difficulty living independently. Assisted living providers furnish a place to live, meals, and assistance with daily activities such as dressing, bathing, eating, and managing medications. Assisted living programs also tend to have a less institutional look than nursing homes. There are a wide variety of assisted living programs in Maryland.
  • Where can I find licensure standards?

    The Assisted Living Licensure Standards are found in the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.07.14, available at public libraries, online at
  • What is the required training for staff?

    COMAR requires that assisted living programs provide initial and annual training for the alternate manager and staff in: (a) fire and life safety, including the use of fire extinguishers; (b) infection control, including standard precautions, contact precautions, and hand hygiene; (c) basic food safety; (d) emergency disaster plans; (e) basic first aid by a certified first aid instructor; and (f) cognitive impairment and mental illness training. Staff must have training or experience in: (a) the health and psychosocial needs of the population being served; (b) the resident assessment process; (c) the use of service plans; and (d) resident rights. A sufficient number of staff must also have initial and ongoing training in CPR training from a certified instructor.
  • What are levels of care?

    The levels of care correspond with how much assistance residents need. The level of care designation, therefore, reflects the complexity of the services required to meet the needs of a resident. The State of Maryland recognizes three levels of care, and they are as follows: Level 1 is low level of care required, Level 2 is moderate level of care required, and Level 3 is high level of care required.
  • What sources of payment are accepted?

    The Comforts of Home currently accepts Medicaid and private pay.